VISITOR INFO

We are open daily from Saturday February 9th 2019 – Sunday November 3rd 2019. Tours run on the hour every hour within the times listed below.

Saturday 9th February – Friday 5th April 10am-4pm.

Saturday 6th April – Sunday 28th April 10am – 5pm.

Monday 29th April – Friday 3rd May 10am – 4pm.

Saturday 4th May – Monday 6th May 10am – 5pm.

Tuesday 7th May – Friday 24th May 10am – 4pm.

Saturday 25th May – Sunday 2nd June 10am – 5pm.

Monday 3rd June – Friday 19th July 10am – 4pm.

Saturday 20th July – Sunday 1st September 10am – 5pm.

Monday 2nd September – Sunday 3rd November 10am – 4pm.

Saturday 9th November, Sunday 10th November, Saturday 16th November, Sunday 17th November, Saturday 23rd November, Sunday 24th November 10am – 3pm.

Saturday 30th November, Sunday 1st December, Saturday 7th December, Sunday 8th December, Saturday 14th December, Sunday 15th December, Saturday 21st December, Sunday 22nd December SANTA’S GROTTO.

You can purchase your tickets on arrival from one of our ticket offices at the entrance to the Ingleborough Estate Nature Trail (only open during busier periods) or at Ingleborough Cave.

Tours run on the hour every hour within the opening times listed above. During busier periods tours will sometimes also operate on the half hour. Please call in advance if you need to know whether this will be applicable for your visiting date.

Adults – £9.00

Children (5-15) – £4.50

Family (2A+2C) – £25.00

Senior Citizen (65+)/Student – £7.50

Please bare in mind that there is the additional £1 per Adult and 50p per Child to pay for use of the Ingleborough Estate Nature Trail. 

We have a small shop on site at Ingleborough Cave that sells the usual amenities including souvenirs (postcards, magnets, fossils etc), hot and cold drinks, confectionary and ice cream (time of year dependent). There are toilets at Ingleborough Cave for those with a valid tour ticket on that given day. Unfortunately we only have limited facilities, so the toilets are only available to those going in the Cave on the day.

Dogs are more than welcome, providing they are well behaved and are kept on a lead.

We accept payment by cash, cheque or card (excluding American Express).

The Cave tour journeys 0.3 miles underground, so visitors will walk a total of 0.6 miles. There are two short stooping sections within the Cave, and there are no steps. The passages are well lit with floodlights throughout. The Cave is a cool 8 degrees centigrade throughout the year, so we recommend wrapping up appropriately.  Please wear suitable footwear for a well-laid concrete path. Single width pushchairs can be taken through the Cave.

Photography is permitted on the Cave tour, although visitors are asked to keep up with the group, so you will not have much time to take photographs. For those looking for an opportunity to photograph the Cave without time constraints, we recommend booking on to one of our Evening Photography Sessions (link this to the events page). Video is not permitted without specific permission in writing. Please contact us for any video queries.

Ingleborough Cave is the ONLY showcave in the U.K that is fully wheelchair accessible. Visitors must first negotiate the Ingleborough Estate Nature Trail, and thanks to the help of the Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority and the Yorkshire Dales Millenium Trust, we recently acquired a top of the range all terrain wheelchair (a.k.a a tramper), and you can use it! All you need to do is contact us to pre-book, and we advise you do this as early as possible to avoid disappointment.Unfortunately the tramper will not go in Ingleborough Cave as it it too big, but we do have a manual wheelchair on site with brakes underneath the handles to assist with the slopes. The person who pushes MUST be fit and able to control the chair as there are a few slopes and narrow passages throughout the showcave. Ingleborough Cave staff reserve the right to decline entry if the person pushing the chair cannot show that they are capable of doing so without risk of injury to themselves or others.If it isn’t feasible to go in the Cave, the Ingleborough Estate Nature Trail is still a beautiful day out, and the tramper can take the less able all 1.3 miles past the sprawling man made lake and through the beautiful woodland upto the imposing cave entrance! Perhaps you’ll even treat yourself to a hot chocoate or an ice cream!All we ask is that you BOOK IN ADVANCE and stick to the time we arrange, or contact us if you’re held up!We may have to bring in an additional member of staff in order to open the store and show you how to use the tramper, which isn’t a problem – we won’t take the reservation if it is, but it can pose problems if you are very late or don’t show up. Please do get in touch if you think you’re behind track!We also recommend that you book in advance to avoid disappointment. When you’re booking, do mention if you would like to use the manual chair that goes through the cave as well as the tramper for the Ingleborough Estate Nature Trail.

History

Adventure Caving

Education

×

Basket

Join our Mailing List

Keep in touch with our latest news, upcoming events and exclusive offers.

All emails include an unsubscribe link.
You may opt-out at any time. See our privacy policy.